If you have been arrested or cited for a DUI charge in Orange County, California you need to find a Newport Beach DUI lawyer. Depending on the location of your arrest, your case will be assigned to one of the four criminal courthouses in the Orange County Superior Court.
Take a look at your paperwork and find the date and location of your first court appearance. DUI cases from the greater Newport Beach area are assigned to the Harbor Justice Center at 4601 Jamboree Road, Newport Beach, CA 92660. Don’t go to court alone on a case like this. Contact a Newport Beach DUI lawyer to protect your license and stay out of jail.
When Should I Contact a Newport Beach DUI Lawyer?
If you have been cited or arrested for suspicion of DUI, you need to act quickly. At the time of your arrest your license was likely confiscated under California’s “stop and snatch” provision. You are now the proud owner of a pink piece of paper, also known as a temporary drivers license.
This pink sheet is part of a form known as the DS-367. Read the entire form front and back. If you have questions about the form, ask your Newport Beach DUI lawyer to help you understand the form.
The most important thing you need to learn about the pink sheet is that you only have 10 days to challenge the pending suspension on your license. Even though the license says that is good for 30 days, do not fall into this trap. You or your Newport Beach DUI lawyer must demand a hearing within 10 days of your arrest or the suspension will automatically be imposed.
The DMV admin per se or “APS” suspension process is entirely independent of the Orange County court system. As long as your demand for a hearing is filed with the Orange Drivers Safety Office within 10 days of your arrest, you are protected.
After your demand is filed, your Newport Beach DUI lawyer can help you keep your temporary license beyond the 30 days, obtain all the necessary materials for your case, prepare your defense, and represent you at the DMV hearing.
Will I Need to Go to Court?
This will depend on the facts of your case. On most misdemeanor DUI cases, your Newport Beach DUI lawyer can appear in court on your behalf under Penal Code 977.
If you have prior convictions, the Judge may require your appearance at some or all of the hearings. If your case involves an accident with injuries or any other felony charge, you will need to make all of your court appearances.
If your case involved an accident or you have other felony counts alleged against you, don’t even think of appearing in court without an experienced Newport Beach DUI lawyer standing at your side.
Do I Really Need a Lawyer for a First Time DUI?
I have been a Newport Beach DUI lawyer for almost 20 years. I have worked thousands of DUI cases. I spent 5 years with the Public Defenders Office and I have now been in private practice for almost 15 years.
During this time, I have seen just about everything. Trust me when I tell you our court system is a complete mess. And remember that with a DUI case, you are dealing with both the court system and the California DMV.
Have you been to the DMV lately? It’s the only place I know of that makes you stand in line for about an hour, so that they can tell you which line to stand in next. Dealing with these two systems combined together makes navigating the DUI process almost impossible without the assistance of a Newport Beach DUI lawyer.
What Will Happen if I Don’t Get a Lawyer?
The penalties are simply too severe and complex to handle a case like this on your own. Even a first time DUI will result in the loss of your license for a significant period of time.
People who attempt to represent themselves in court on a DUI charge will usually end up without a license for even longer than the mandatory suspension periods based on a misunderstanding of the complex rules of license suspension and restriction after a DUI.
It is also extremely common for DUI defendants to face probation violations and jail time in court for failing to comply with court orders. A large percentage of these people never had a chance to stay out of jail because they simply did not understand the orders being made at the time of sentencing. If you don’t understand the Judge’s order, successful compliance is out of the question.
If you are facing a DUI charge and you can afford to hire a Newport Beach DUI lawyer, hire one immediately.
You don’t have to hire me, hire any qualified DUI lawyer that you feel comfortable with. If you cannot afford to hire a Newport Beach DUI lawyer, be sure to ask the Judge to appoint the Orange County Public Defender at your very first court appearance.
The Judge will have you submit a declaration of your assets and liabilities and if you are indigent, the Judge will appoint the Orange County Public Defender to represent you free of charge. Depending on your ability to pay, you may be assessed for a portion of the legal fees at the end of the case.
If you think you’d like an experienced attorney by your side to help you navigate your Orange County DUI charge, click the button below for a free consultation with me personally.
Read More: DUI Expungement